Monday, June 1, 2009

Oh, boy. Completely random thoughts.

All right. The past couple weeks have been fairly uneventful. Today I'm a bit annoyed because someone at work hit my car in the parking lot a few weeks ago and I dropped it off at the auto body store today, taking time off from work which I can't really afford to take. I figured, it's a little golf ball-sized dent, it won't take that long to fix. I went over to my mom's house (she just moved across the street from me. Yay!) and hung out there for awhile. It was going on 4 o'clock so I called the auto body shop and asked when my car would be ready.

Wednesday, they said. Are you fucking kidding me?

I'm sure they have lots of cars to fix and whatever, but I made this appointment two weeks ago, and no one said anything to me to lead me to think that my car wouldn't be done today. I do have two jobs that I need to get to.

So I'm frustrated about that. Plus I have a headache because I've been smoking a ton of cigarettes lately. I need to give that shit up. I don't even really like doing it anymore. They taste gross and make me feel awful. But I'm scared to even try to quit right now. I think I will definitely cut waaaay back though. This is getting insane. Not to mention expensive.

Things at work have gotten slightly better. By that I don't mean that my employers have given me the pay I deserve or that they've improved working conditions in any way. Quite the opposite. They just keep dumping more work on us as if we don't have enough to do already. However, I have made some significant progress in learning how to deflect all the annoying, soul-sucking things about it and just go with it and not let things get to me. So I'm proud of myself for that. However if I get spoken to one more time about something I supposedly did wrong three weeks ago I'm going to scream. Once is enough. I'm not a child and I don't need it drilled into my skull. Plus I don't even recall doing what I supposedly did, which was sigh when a patient asked me for help. I would never be so blatantly rude on purpose. If I did sigh, it certainly wasn't conscious. Eric tells me I sigh all the time and I don't even know it when I do it. It's a little quirk. I think people are just touchy and like to have things to complain about. It's quite silly. Not to mention that over the past two weeks I've had about a dozen patients thank me for my help and say how nice I am. So there.

Enough about that. I'm getting excited for my birthday, which is the only day all year that I get to feel somewhat special. I bought a cute little dress back in January and I just purchased some matching shoes, so when I step into Mulligan's next Friday, watch out! I'm really excited to just drink some beers with my nearest and dearest and relax for once.

I have recently become irreversibly addicted to Pop Secret Homestyle microwave popcorn. You should try it. It's like crack to me. In addition to that, I've been eating lots of fruit and veggies and hardly any meat. Which is good. I did backslide on the soda though. I started drinking it at work again and definitely need to stop that. It's no good and makes me bloated and uncomfortable, in addition to annihilating the progress my skin has made. I need to find something else to lift my energy level at work.

I hate drinking water because I like my drinks to have some flavor, so at home I've either been drinking iced tea or Kool Aid with no sugar (it's cheap, which is good for poor schmucks like me, and tasty!). Eric thinks the Kool Aid is bad for me, but I googled it and didn't find anything corroborating his argument. I also didn't find anything saying it's GOOD for me, but I still consider it a win on my end, until I see evidence to the contrary.

I don't think I've lost any more weight, but I haven't stepped on the scale. I think I could trick myself into being more motivated by posting my weight weekly... maybe I'll try that. We're having a yard sale in a couple weeks and I was looking through all my stuff to see what I could sell. I opened my closet to see about 15 pairs of jeans that I always tell myself I'll fit back into someday. Size 6. So maybe I'll take a pair out and leave them where I can see them to give me some additional motivation. It would really help if Eric didn't get pizza all the time, but I can't blame him, because I love pizza and I always eat it when he brings it home.

In other news, I fell into a black hole of disbelief last night. I was online at one of my favorite websites, Lemondrop.com. It's like an online magazine for chicks, only without all the stupid make up tips and other vapid crap found in Cosmo and its ilk. It's got interesting and entertaining articles and fun little slide shows. Anyway, as soon as I went on the website, the article right on top was headlined something like, "The biggest douchebag on the internet." Of COURSE I had to read it. Big mistake. It was some website that some guy in Philly put up about himself. With a blog and pictures and other crap. All he talks about is how "amazing" he is and how "ultra cool" and "extremely good looking" he is. It's fucking priceless. I am sorry and ashamed to say that I spent hours reading his dumb blog. But in my defense after the first post, I really only clicked on the next blog to read the comments that people have been leaving him. They are an absolute riot. If you like to hate on douchebags as much as I do, you should check it out. I'm not kidding, you will probably pee your pants with laughter. Especially at comments left by Matt Beauchamp and Team Noto. And it's totally ok, because this guy is so arrogant that he has effectively removed himself from reality. If you are interested, it's www.arthurkade.com.

There were a few times where I actually felt sorry for him because everyone's picking on him, but those moments were fleeting because immediately I'd read something he wrote like, "I only date 9s or 10s. Any woman less attractive just isn't up to my level." Ironically, if he were to judge himself based on his own ridiculous scale, he'd be a 4, at best. Oh, what a gem. What a complete gem of a human being.

Anyway, I spent way too much time talking about that. My apologies. I just can't fathom how someone with so little self awareness can function in society. I thought some of you might find it amusing. Moving on, I'm going to start dinner for Eric. I'll try to write again soon, and hopefully between now and then I'll have something to actually write about.